Finalists Named for Beaufort International Film Festival 2016

Filmmakers from Around the World Prepare to Attend the 10th Annual Beaufort International Film Festival in February12345442_10156335324135387_8064689874130242106_n The Tenth Annual Beaufort International Film Festival will host thousands of film lovers from around the world starting Feb. 10 and continuing to Feb 14 in the historic coastal town of Beaufort, SC. Considered one of the fastest growing film festivals in the southeast and named one of the top 25 Coolest Film Festivals in the World 2013 by MovieMaker Magazine, festival organizers are expecting their biggest crowds yet. With over 10,000 attending some part of the four day festival in 2015, more are expected in 2016. Awards will be presented in the areas of Features, Documentaries, Short Films, Student Films, Screenplays, Animation. Comedy and Audience Choice.  Also, winners will be named for Best Actor, Best Actress, and Best Director BIFF 2016 also marks the second award for the Spirit & Pride of South Carolina Award, presented to that person whose career achievements in the areas of film, television or music have reflected positively on themselves and the state of South Carolina. The award will be presented to Television Host and Fashion Icon Vanna White, originally from North Myrtle Beach, SC. Former Army Chaplain and filmmaker Justin D. Roberts will be presented the Santini Patriot Spirit Award for his film "No Greater Love". The "Santini " is awarded to that filmmaker whose portrayal of the American active duty military, veterans, or their families in a feature film, documentary, or short reflects the highest standards of service and sacrifice for the good of others. The award is named after Marine Corps Colonel Donald "The Great Santini" Conroy. father of Academy Award® nominated screenwriter and best-selling author Pat Conroy. Jonathan Gaynor will be presented the "Behind the Scenes" award for his more than 20 years of work as a Film Sound Mixer. Jonathan's resume includes over 50 film and television credits. The 2016 Beaufort International Film Festival Finalists are as follows: ANIMATION A Gothic Tale Directed by: Marceia Patterson, Winston-Salem, NC Another Everest Directed by: Aleksandre Kosinski, Winston-Salem, NC Chiaroscuro Directed by:  Daniel Drummond, San Luis, Brazil Reality Check Directed by:  Alexander Woody, Orange, CA Switch Man Directed by: Hsun-Chun Chuan and Shao-Kuei Tong, Taiwan DOCUMENTARY Daylight Come Directed by:  Evan Vetter,  Wilmington, NC Kepulihan: When the Waters Recede Directed by: David H. Barnhart, Atlanta GA Locked In a Box Directed by: David H. Barnhart, Atlanta, GA Projections of America Directed by:  Peter Miller, New York, NY Old South Directed by:  Danielle Beverly,  Brooklyn, NY Since: The Bombing of Pan Am Flight 103 Directed by:  Phil Furey,  Los Angeles, CA FEATURE Intersection Directed by:  Tim French,  Los Angeles, CA Interwoven Directed by:  VW Scheich, Beaufort, SC In the Dark Directed by:  David Spaltro,  New York, NY Keep In Touch Directed by:  Sam Kretchmar, New York, NY SHORTS: Another Love Directed by:  Victor Perez, London, UK A Chess Player Directed by: Shea Sizemore, Charlotte, NC El Altar de Soledad (A Prayer for the Lonely) Directed by:  Felix Martiz, Los Angeles, CA Birthday Directed by:  Chris King, Los Angeles, CA Morning Shift Directed by:  Gary Weeks, Roswell, GA Pardon the Intrusion Directed by: Louise Caruna Galizia, United Kingdom Selling Rosario Directed by:  Iana Simeonov & Michael Winokur, San Francisco, CA Shooting an Elephant Directed by:  Juan Pablo Rothie, Venezuela The Gunfighter Directed by: Eric Kissack, Los Angeles, CA The Tutor Directed by:  Grant Johnson, Los Angeles, CA The Visitor Directed by: Bennett Pellington, Wilmington, NC STUDENT FILMS Danny Freud  (University of North Carolina, School of the Arts) Directed by:  Madiene Rae Painter, Winston-Salem, NC Deep Pan Fury (University of Creative Arts, UK) Directed by:  Charlie Dennis, United Kingdom Doug (University of Creative Arts, UK) Directed by:  Tom Fordham, London, United Kingdom Lies Beneath the Lampshade (Savannah College of Art and Design) Directed by: Andrew Wecht, Savannah, GA Panfilo (University of London, UK) Directed by:  Memed Aksoy, London, UK Schoolcraft (Savannah College of Art and Design) Directed by:  Adam Nelson, Savannah, GA Sin Frontera  (Chapman University, Dodge College) Directed by:  Iz Gutierrez, Orange, CA The Break In  (New York University, Tisch) Directed by:  Robbie Lemieux, New York, NY The Right Hand of God (Chapman University, Dodge College) Directed by:  Matthew Szewczyk, Orange, CA BEST COMEDY Danny Freud Deep Pan Fury Keep In Touch Morning Shift The Break In The Gunfighter SCREENPLAY Attic Ashes Written by:  Lorraine Portman, St. Augustine, FL Coastline Written by:  Ned Farr, Los Angeles, CA Collapse Written by:  N. T. Bullock, New Orleans, LA Controlling Written by:  Margaret Ford Rogers and Robert Seckler, Charleston, SC eDisharmony Written by:  Lorraine Portman, St. Augustine, FL In Spite of It All Written by:  Rebecca Boyd, Columbia, SC Soulbreak Written by:  Richard Levine & Marie Bailey, Jacksonville, FL Switched at Girth Written by:  Kevin Williams, Los Angeles, CA The Geriatric Tour Written by:  Marcia Rhea, Charleston, SC The Key for Hope Written by:  Frederico Ferrero, Tampa, FL Turning August Written by:  Sheila Watson and Anthony Watson, Johns Island, SC BEST ACTOR: Ryan Patrick Bachand (Keep In Touch- Feature Film) Eduardo Enrikez (Sin Frontera – Student Film) Cullen Moss (The Visitor - Short Film) Hoyt Richards (Intersection – Feature Film) Anthony Reynolds (The Visitor – Short Film) BEST ACTRESS Maritza Brikisak (Only the Lonely - Short Film) Grace Folsom (In the Dark - Feature Film) Gabbi McPhee (Keep In Touch - Feature Film) Fiona Horrigan ( In the Dark - Feature Film) Mo'Nique  (Interwoven - Feature Film) BEST DIRECTOR Tim French (Intersection-Feature Film) Sam Kretchmar  ( Keep In Touch– Feature Film) Victor Perez (Another Love  - Short Film) Juan Pablo Rothie  ( Shooting an Elephent – Short Film) VW Scheich   (Interwoven –Feature Film) David Spaltro (In The Dark - Feature Film) For more information about the 10th Annual Beaufort International Film Festival, The festival is produced by the Beaufort Film Society. The Beaufort Film Society is a nonprofit, 501 (c) 3, member-supported organization, dedicated to providing the highest levels of entertainment and education to the public from all areas of the film industry.

Want to comment?